Illinois FCCL (Firearm Concealed Carry License) Frequently Asked Questions
The Illinois Firearm Concealed Carry Act requires the completion of 16 hours of training. This can be accomplished in 2 or more parts, with each adding up to the required 16 hours of training. If you have no accepted prior training, you will need the 16-hour class. See Training calendar.
Illinois law clearly states in (430 ILCS 66/70) (Text of Section before amendment by P.A. 100-607)
Sec. 70. Violations…., “(c) A license is invalid upon expiration of the license, unless the licensee has submitted an application to renew the license, and the applicant is otherwise eligible to possess a license under this Act.”
So knowing that the renewal process may take up to 4 months, you can choose to take the 3-hr refresher class and submit your application 4 or 5 months before your current ILCCL expires, or you can choose to take the 3-hr refresher class and submit your application any time before your current ILCCL expires.
Credit for Prior Training
You can receive up to 8 hours exemption based on prior training. If you are an honorably discharged or retired veteran or are currently serving in any branch of the military, the Illinois State Police will accept that as 8 hours toward the required 16 hours. You will need the 8-hour class.
Other courses that satisfy this first 8 hours are:
- NRA Basic Pistol course
- NRA Personal Protection in the Home, and
- NRA Personal Protection Outside the Home.
- Prior Law Enforcement Corrections Officer Firearms Training as detailed in 430 ILCS 66/75(J)
The Illinois State Police also accepts the following Firearm Safety training courses recognized as 4 hours each. If you have taken one of the following courses, you will need the 12-hour class. If you have taken 2 of the following courses, you will need the 8-hour class.
- Illinois Hunter Safety course
- Florida CCW
- Utah CCW
- Nevada CCW
- Missouri CCW
- Kentucky CCW
- Michigan CCW
- Chicago Firearms Safety course
The required 8-hour training after all exemptions is the 8-hour class.
What does the 8-hour class consist of?
It is a class that will be long enough to fulfill the remaining time of the required 16 hours of training and must by law contain:
- All applicable State and federal laws relating to the ownership, storage, carry, and transportation of a firearm; and
- Instruction on the appropriate and lawful interaction with law enforcement while transporting or carrying a concealed firearm
- A live-fire exercise (minimum 7 out of 10 accuracy) with a concealable firearm consisting of a minimum of 30 rounds at a B-27 silhouette target approved by the ISP.
- 10 rounds from a distance of 5 yards
- 10 rounds from a distance of 7 yards
- 10 rounds from a distance of 10 yards
Do I need a FOID Card before I can take a class?
No, Illinois law permits a person to take a firearms safety class without a FOID card, however, a FOID card is required to legally own or carry a gun as an IL resident.
What are the fees for the classes and the permit?
The class fees are as follows:
The 16-hour class costs $150
The 12-hour class costs $150
The 8-hour class costs $125
The 3-hour refresher class costs $50
Bring your own ammo to qualify. The NRA specifies that only factory-made ammo be used in NRA classes. There is no ammo type requirement by law for ILCCL live fire. The application fee for an Illinois License to Carry either initial or renewal is $150 if you are an Illinois resident, and $300 for residents of any other state.